» OLD MESSAGE ARCHIVES «
The Pop Culture Information Society...
Messageboard Archive Index, In The 00s - The Pop Culture Information Society

Welcome to the archived messages from In The 00s. This archive stretches back to 1998 in some instances, and contains a nearly complete record of all the messages posted to inthe00s.com. You will also find an archive of the messages from inthe70s.com, inthe80s.com, inthe90s.com and amiright.com before they were combined to form the inthe00s.com messageboard.

If you are looking for the active messages, please click here. Otherwise, use the links below or on the right hand side of the page to navigate the archives.

Custom Search

Subject: When did teen girls start acting/dressing more casually?

Written By: Marty McFly on 08/19/09 at 5:29 pm

This is something interesting to me, just the development over time.

I was in high school from 1996-2000, and I have some experience even back to '95 since for a year I went to what's called a continuation school in California, basically a mix of middle and high. I remember a vast majority of the girls dressed more casually and like guys - i.e. jeans or regular pants, and shirts... lots of them had the grunge styles too, lol. It was female variations of course, but based off what's typically been considered guys' clothes. Come to think of it, I can't recall any girls in middle or high school wearing dresses - I'm sure they did, but it just wasn't as common. What was it like in anyone else's schools or workplaces back then?