inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Survey of parodists: Can you read music?

Written By: Tommy Turtle on 06/12/11 at 8:26 pm

During a recent discussion with another writer about pacing, this writer used an analogy to music "beats" - quarter-notes, eighth-notes, etc.
The respose was, "Confession of ignorance. I have absolutely no formal training in music..<snip> So I don't know a quarter note from a Quarter Pounder."

*That* I did not expect. I'm a rank amateur myself -- when I play, it's rank, and if I try to sing, it's even ranker :D --  but we were taught how to read the clef signs, the notes from their position on the clefs, time signatures and their meanings, and the length of various notes (whole, half, quarter, etc.) by the sixth grade, IIRC. (For non-US readers, that would be the sixth year of formal schooling, or fifth year in TT's case.) The fact that in 5+ years here, the only other writer with whom this writer has formed an ongoing team has a Master of Fine Arts degree in Music, is probably not a total coincidence, though not necessary. But it's hard to picture parodying music without knowing the *basics* of music.

To be fair, one of this writer's fave musicians, Buddy Holly, is said not to have been able to read or write music. He heard it in his head, hummed it, and worked it out. But Holly was writing *original* music, to his own drummer, so to speak. We don't do that. We take someone else's music and lyrics, and overlay our lyrics *to their music*. Which seems to moi to be more difficult if one doesn't speak the language of music.