inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: When pacing and uniqueness of subject matter aren't enough

Written By: Edward Genereux on 10/11/14 at 10:50 am

As some of you may know, I have been writing parodies for amIRight since 2007. I now have 108 parodies, and most have been favourably received, especially those written in the last few years. I chalk it up to suggestions from the user community--varying refrains even if the OS repeats them and avoiding making parodies of parodies, for example--that I have subsequently incorporated into my style. This topic, however, is about a parody that was NOT favourably received.

This summer, I was watching on my computer the ABC Nightline special about the evangelical Christian practice known as the purity ball. I was creeped out by the way fathers were feeding their daughters wedding cake and dancing with them as though they were at a wedding. Except that the "date" forced down the girls' throats outdated norms (to say the least) of how teen girls and young women should behave towards teen boys and young men. After all, adolescence should be a time of discernment concerning sexuality and other such matters.

Now, if a girls WANTS to be pure until marriage, that's okay with me. What's NOT okay is to straitjacket her into purity. In response, it took me a few months, even though I noticed that no-one had written a single parody about purity balls on amIRight. When I got down to writing the parody on the night of 9 October 2014, then, I was filling a void on the site. This was the end result:
http://www.amiright.com/parody/80s/jethrotull4.shtml