inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Ask me anything about libraries and/or geneology

Written By: bookmistress4ever on 12/13/06 at 12:24 am

Didn't know what I could possibly have as an Ask Me thread, so this is what I came up with.

I was a librarian for 15 years, and I've been doing my family tree off and on for almost 20 years, I guess I should know at least *something* about those two subjects.  I guess if you wanna ask me other stuff, you can too.  I will try to answer as best as I can.  :)

Subject: Re: Ask me anything about libraries and/or geneology

Written By: Gis on 12/13/06 at 6:30 am

Just to say I had already done a library/book thread that died a death somewhere back on page one of this board, being a fellow librarian myself.  :)

Written By: Gis on 12/13/06 at 6:49 am

By the way I don't mean that in a 'how dare you start the same thread as me' way but in a 'don't be disheartened if noone asks you any questions' way!

So these online geneology sites, would you say they are any good?

Written By: quirky_cat_girl on 12/13/06 at 9:57 am

how far back have you researched your family? I always thought this would be a very interesting thing to do.

Written By: Philip Eno on 12/13/06 at 11:33 am

I have reached 1796 on my paternal side and 1776 on my maternal side, but now have grind to a halt seeking new details or time for deeper research.

Written By: quirky_cat_girl on 12/13/06 at 11:59 am

Are there any free sites that help with the process of researching your genealogy? I checked a few popular sites out, but they are so expensive! :-\\

Written By: Philip Eno on 12/13/06 at 12:01 pm