inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Gardening Tips

Written By: quirky_cat_girl on 01/22/09 at 11:51 pm

I am planning on planting a veggie garden for the first time this spring. I would like to plant the following: tomato, lettuce, bell peppers, summer squash, zucchini, and snap beans.  I have never done this before...and any help/suggestions/ideas/hints would be greatly appreciated. :)

Subject: Re: Gardening Tips

Written By: karen on 01/23/09 at 6:56 am

I've grown tomatoes before.  Usually in a grow bag or a pot.  They need watering once or twice a day every day.

Written By: 2kidsami on 01/23/09 at 7:01 am

I am planning on planting a veggie garden for the first time this spring. I would like to plant the following: tomato, lettuce, bell peppers, summer squash, zucchini, and snap beans.  I have never done this before...and any help/suggestions/ideas/hints would be greatly appreciated. :)
Buy your tomatoes and bell peppers as plants at the local garden center.  All the rest are better if grown from seeds.  Do not set out plants too early, as frost will kill them (the frost free date - safe date - is determined by your area).  Tomatoes you can not plant too deep (unless you cover the plant completely of course), but do not plant peppers any deeper than they already are in the soil. 

Invest in some good compost and rototill it into your existing soil - packed full of nutrients and organic.  You may put some bone meal in the hole with each plant to get them established well and help "set" fruit.

Not sure what other advice you need - just ask

Written By: danootaandme on 01/23/09 at 9:05 am