inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Golden West Restaurants

Written By: Jessica on 07/15/10 at 4:20 pm

So after doing a mega drinking binge at a bar in Capitola, my friends and I rolled our drunken asses down to Santa Cruz to eat (we did have a designated driver....we're dumb but not THAT dumb).  This was at about two this morning.  Anywho, as my friend and I stumbled to the bathrooms at the Santa Cruz Diner, I noticed some pics on the wall.  While waiting for my friend to crawl out of the men's room, I studied the pics....the Santa Cruz Diner used to be a Golden West!  I freaked out because that was a name I haven't heard in AGES.  When my friend finally emerged, I gleefully pointed it out to him, and we both started reminiscing about the place.  When we got back to the rest of the mutant mob at the table, we were reminded of how old we were when NONE of them had heard of it.  Phooey on them.  ANYWAYS...

So when I climbed my drunk ass into bed this morning, I hopped on the computer to see if I could find out anything about this restaurant.  NOTHING, except some old items for sale on eBay.  So does anyone else remember this place?  Fond memories, company info, logo origins, anything?  BUELLER?  I know that my grandfather used to take us there a LOOOOOOONG time ago, usually when we were coming or going on our camping trips.  I couldn't have been more than three or four.

The logo(s), to refresh memories:

http://cgi.ebay.com/GOLDEN-WEST-RESTAURANT-Matchbook-Never-used-/260554940112?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3caa48ded0#ht_500wt_928