inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: The movies of the early 00s!!

Written By: Civecian-Ark on 06/02/11 at 9:26 pm

Another question for those who are probably slightly older than me and remember movies that were not cartoons: I want to write a short story for my university's creative writing publication, one that's set at some point between 1999 and 9/11.  As a writer I feel it's my responsibility to pull the reader into the world as well as possible, so the first thing I try to do is really get a feel for the times I'm working in.  Problem is the setting I'm interested in exploring was a time when I was barely moving up into middle school, so I don't know a damned thing about what it was like to go to John Mayer concerts or why we voted for a guy who said the word "strategery."  Anybody know some movies I can watch that'll give me an idea what America was like before 9/11?  Y'know, the general national and cultural mood leading into the War on Terror?

Subject: Re: The movies of the early 00s!!

Written By: snozberries on 06/02/11 at 9:35 pm

this is a pretty comprehensive list of movies released in 1999.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1999_in_film

a few titles that come to mind are

10 Things I Hate About You
Office Space
The Wood

ya know.... whenever anyone ask a writer for advise they almost always say "Write what you know"  just sayin'

Written By: Civecian-Ark on 06/02/11 at 9:41 pm

There is some fun in learning things as you write too, y'know. ;)

Written By: 80sfan on 06/02/11 at 11:41 pm