» OLD MESSAGE ARCHIVES «
The Pop Culture Information Society...
Messageboard Archive Index, In The 00s - The Pop Culture Information Society

Welcome to the archived messages from In The 00s. This archive stretches back to 1998 in some instances, and contains a nearly complete record of all the messages posted to inthe00s.com. You will also find an archive of the messages from inthe70s.com, inthe80s.com, inthe90s.com and amiright.com before they were combined to form the inthe00s.com messageboard.

If you are looking for the active messages, please click here. Otherwise, use the links below or on the right hand side of the page to navigate the archives.

Custom Search

Subject: Small town Iowa famed high school football coach shot by former player.

Written By: 2kidsami on 06/24/09 at 9:56 pm

This story is sooo sad.  I am a high school teacher in Iowa and my school (the high school) is around 300 students.  This coach was from a school the same size (maybe smaller than mine).  Needless to say, we know everyone and their families. I only hope this awakens some administrators eyes that this can happen in Smalltown, Iowa. 

This coach was a truly great guy.  He was shot by a former player (who admits his best times where for this coach).  He is Nationally recognized as he has produced 4 NFL players from this small public school, all home raised boys - no recruiting and such.  He was shot in front of students in the weight room, thankfully no others were hurt (physically).  This town has been through so much - it was flattened last year by an F4 tornado (the school is still being rebuilt - the coaches home was destroyed).  Everyone has pulled together to rebuild, and Thomas was instrumental in moral, and positive influence, rebuilding of school and community.