» OLD MESSAGE ARCHIVES «
The Pop Culture Information Society...
Messageboard Archive Index, In The 00s - The Pop Culture Information Society

Welcome to the archived messages from In The 00s. This archive stretches back to 1998 in some instances, and contains a nearly complete record of all the messages posted to inthe00s.com. You will also find an archive of the messages from inthe70s.com, inthe80s.com, inthe90s.com and amiright.com before they were combined to form the inthe00s.com messageboard.

If you are looking for the active messages, please click here. Otherwise, use the links below or on the right hand side of the page to navigate the archives.

Custom Search

Subject: Guns and Rational Thinking

Written By: LyricBoy on 08/28/11 at 10:14 am

Many on this board may recall that I'm a pro gun rights dude and have a small collection of firearms.  While I support the right of all to bear firearms, I also know that common sense has to be used, too.  Here's something that happened just this week.

A guy at work asked me "Hey LB, I hear you know alot about guns.  What kind of gun should me and the wife get to protect our house?"

I asked him "Where do you live?".  He said "I live in Linmar (known for some decent crimes here in Beaver County).  We live on the second floor and the man downstairs is 74 years old but he's in the nursing home alot.  So we need protection since we're often alone.  There are drug dealers across the street, LB".

So I ask him "Do you own the place or are you a renter?".  He indicated that he is a renter.  "Do you have any family in that area?" and he replied "No".

So I explained to him LB's Number One rule of firearms and home protection.  If you live in a neighborhood where you need to carry a gun, you don't need a gun.  You need a new neighborhood.  He makes decent money so he's not living there 'cause it all he can afford (Beaver County has lots of affordable and safe housing areas).