inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Class of 05 vs Class of 12

Written By: joeman on 07/25/12 at 7:28 pm

Anyone seen the new 21 Jump Street?  Basically stars 2 people in their mid 20s, one a jock, the other is a nerd.  Basically they join a police academy and gets assign to be undercover cops at a high school posed as high schoolers.  Both know the rules of HS changed, the popular kids are more tolerant, love comic books, and are environmentalist.  The nerd fits in perfectly but the jock is left as an outcast(irony).

To those that graduated HS in the early 2010s, do you think that movie or my summary of it was accurate?  I graduated in 02(really should been 03), and HS back then was very different from what was now shown in the movie.  We still jocks that would bully the nerd, and the environmentalist were a niche group.

Subject: Re: Class of 05 vs Class of 12

Written By: mach!ne_he@d on 07/26/12 at 2:03 pm

I'm in the Class of 2005, and I can't imagine that all that much has changed in seven years. At my school, students that got good grades were often mocked as being "nerds", and the only kids that cared about pollution were those that wanted to keep virtual citizens from fleeing their smog filled cities on SimCity 4.

Now, I obviously can't speak to what high school is like in the early '10s, but I can't see it being all that different.

Written By: MarkMc1990 on 07/27/12 at 10:35 am