inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: What's wrong with being upbeat/light-hearted?

Written By: HeyJealousy on 06/25/17 at 4:30 pm

I spent a year or two through a dark phase and my outlook on life turned out, well... dark. This coincided with the very dark mid-2010s time era.
Now I'm getting back into comedy flicks, upbeat alternative/Eurodance music (mostly from the 90s) and I'm seeing the world through a fresh lens. And I'm lovin' it.
So why do pseudo-intellectuals frown down upon an upbeat culture?

Subject: Re: What's wrong with being upbeat/light-hearted?

Written By: 2001 on 06/25/17 at 4:43 pm

Welcome to the club! That's what I've been doing since 2009 :D

Written By: John Titor on 06/25/17 at 8:14 pm

I spent a year or two through a dark phase and my outlook on life turned out, well... dark. This coincided with the very dark mid-2010s time era.
Now I'm getting back into comedy flicks, upbeat alternative/Eurodance music (mostly from the 90s) and I'm seeing the world through a fresh lens. And I'm lovin' it.

majority of 2010s it was cool to be dark and gritty,  ENOUGH Is ENOUGH

Written By: 80sfan on 06/25/17 at 8:29 pm

It's not a matter of 'happy', 'upbeat', or 'lighthearted'. It's not even a matter of 'edgy', 'dark', or 'cutting edge'.

To me, it's the way a TV show, movie, or book, is displayed. The energy that the product, imagery, and 'show', is like.

I feel like movie trailers show too much when they air, there's not much mystery when it shows.

Written By: #Infinity on 06/25/17 at 8:34 pm