inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: 2014-2015 school year.

Written By: mc98 on 12/14/18 at 9:34 am

This is the year where I was a Sophomore in high school and it was the best year I've ever had. Not only this year was peak Mid '10s but it was the peak of all things 2010s.

Firstly, the music was mostly pop, not electropop but pop nonetheless. Taylor Swift reached her enormous peak with her 1989 album. Other pop artists that did well were Ariana Grande, Meghan Trainor, Ed Sheeran, Maroon 5, and Sam Smith. You also heard of retro throwback hits such as Uptown Funk, Want To Want Me, and Shut Up and Dance. The Weeknd became the new thing after when he was featured in an Ariana Grande song. I remember when many people were shocked from the Anaconda music video lol. It was a sad year for One Direction fans when Zayn left the group during the second semester.

This was the first year for Trap to rise up the charts with Rae Sremmurd, Young Thug, Future, and Fetty Wap. Even back then, the trap sounded different compared to today's Trap. There was also DJ Mustard style beats that was big this year such as Post To Be, IDFWU, Somebody, and Don't Tell Em.

For social media, this was the best year for Snapchat and Instagram when it had the classic look. This was also a peak year for Vine where you had the Deez Nuts and whipping dance videos that was being spewed out by everyone. Speaking of memes and viral stuff, you had things like The Dress, Ice Bucket Challenge, Left Shark from the Katy Perry Halftime Performance, and Alex From Target. FNAF was also a big phenomenon