inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Let's keep this board great! Some concerns and suggestions

Written By: KatanaChick on 01/26/20 at 10:03 pm

First off, I'd like to introduce myself as the new moderator to the 2020's board! I'm new to this mod thing, so I welcome any advice.

A new decade is upon us, which means there will be so many new things to talk about!

I do want to bring up a few issues I commonly see around though.

1. "Generationology." The term that describes over analyzing and making comparisons on individuals who were born in certain years. Such as questioning whether a person born in 1993 vs a person born in 1990 is less of a 90's kid than the latter. Or arguing whether a person born on the cusp of a generation belongs here or there. Or any other pointless comparisons that reduce individuals to the year they were born and not take into account who they are as people. Like Millennials act a certain way, or Gen Z acts a certain way, and so on. Just stop with the sweeping generalizations.

2. "Gender gripes." This one is more recent, but let's nip it in the bud because it's also another argument that gets nowhere. What I mean about this is having to read through topics that could be about subculture or fashion and hear endless complaining about how there's too much gender conformity. For one, how people express themselves through their personal style is their choice. Secondly, as people become more accepting of these things, you can't expect the world to change overnight nor can you expect the world to change simply because it's your preference. Variety is what makes the world interesting.