inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Eagles - The Benchmark of the 70s

Written By: diofan on 08/15/08 at 6:18 am

In the 60's we had the Beatles, but IMHO the Eagles literally OWNED the 70's. From the "Country-esqe" sounding "Best of My love" and "Midnight Flyer" all the way to The Rockin' "Victim Of Love" and "Hotel California". There's so many songs they did that I could listen to for hours!!!

Even the more recent "Bluesy" sounding "Get Over It". The range of music this band plays it just astounding! They are, IMHO, the 70s Beatles.

As a drummer, I love playing "Those Shoes".

Subject: Re: Eagles - The Benchmark of the 70s

Written By: AmericanGirl on 08/15/08 at 12:06 pm

Good call on the Eagles!

I'd stop short of calling them the 70's Beatles.  But they were indeed one of the most important groups of the decade.  Among what makes them so extra-remarkable is that most of their music is timeless, unlike some other popular 70's groups that sound more dated.

They started with a country-rock sound, which was perfect for the early 70's when they first got going.  Later they seemed to adopt more of an edgy rock sound, which better matched the musical landscape of the mid to late 70's.

The Eagles ROCK!!!  :D

Written By: Marty McFly on 08/15/08 at 12:11 pm

Not a big fan (aside from a few songs) but I agree. '70s music doesn't necesarilly have one single, distinct sound (like the '80s do with the synths and overproduction) since so much was going on at once, and you can hear that in their music.