inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Making Ice Cream With Big Wheels

Written By: ooohprettycolors on 09/19/04 at 10:47 pm

My friends and I have discovered a mysterious phenomenon: about 2/3 of kids our generation (born early 80S) used to tip our big wheels or bicycles upside-down, spin the wheels, and pretend we were making ice cream. I also found this in a past post:

Quote from: lorac614 on May 26, 2004, 09:19:49 PM
I started out with a "Little Wheels" which was just a smaller version on the Big Wheel and then I graduated to the Big Wheel with the spin out brake.   

I know this will probably sound nuts but we used to flip them over and pedal the pedals with our hands and play "Ice Cream Man"...I guess we were churning ice cream.  LOL!! 

You know it's funny, but we used to do that too!

We are trying to figure out where this idea came from! It really makes no sense, especially to people who didn't do this. Does anyone who "made ice cream" this way have any memory of why they did this? We figure it must have been on tv or something because kids all around the country did it.  Anyone have any guesses?

Katie

Subject: Re: Making Ice Cream With Big Wheels

Written By: Chris on 09/19/04 at 11:03 pm

I remember doing this, but we didn't refer to it as making ice cream, but for some reason I do remember getting a lot of amusement out of it.

Written By: ooohprettycolors on 09/21/04 at 7:18 pm

Come on, somebody's got to have something on this.....was it subliminal messaging? Why can't anyone remember why they did this?

Katie

Written By: rubixgirl on 09/22/04 at 7:39 am

I used to pretend that too. Wow! Had forgotten about that.  :D