inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Midge Ure's autobiography

Written By: Absolutely Vile on 09/21/04 at 4:08 pm

For anyone who might be interested, Midge Ure's autobiography entitled, strangely enough, If I Was, is out sometime next month. It should prove to be very interesting for any fan of his, Ultravox, Visage or The Rich Kids. I can't wait to get my copy!! :D

Absolutely Vile

Subject: Re: Midge Ure's autobiography

Written By: Abercrombie86 on 09/21/04 at 4:13 pm

"If I was a soldier, Captive arms I'd lay before her, If I was a sailor ,Seven oceans I'd sail to her" ;)

Written By: Abercrombie86 on 09/21/04 at 4:14 pm

GOOD STUFF!!! :)

Written By: Absolutely Vile on 09/21/04 at 4:19 pm

"If I was a soldier, Captive arms I'd lay before her, If I was a sailor ,Seven oceans I'd sail to her" ;)

GOOD STUFF!!! :)

Er...yes...good song. But I'm trying to talk about a book here...::)

Absolutely Vile

Written By: Abercrombie86 on 09/21/04 at 4:24 pm

i'm sure it will be intresting. should be a hit among ultravox-faithful.

Written By: Alice on 09/21/04 at 4:40 pm

i'm sure it will be intresting. should be a hit among ultravox-faithful.

Absolutely! I think that Ultravox deserve respect in any case, as they made some of the finest (experimental) electro-pop albums in music's history. Especially "Vienna" (1981) and those three made with John Foxx. It will be interesting to read their making as well as Midge Ure's lookback at the legendary Band Aid's "Do They Know It's Christmas?" (1984) single and Live Aid spectacle. Looking forward to it!
The aforementioned "If I Was" (1985), his only UK#1 hit BTW, is a fine song though.