inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: 1988 things

Written By: habeansha on 08/24/05 at 10:18 pm

I am a student that will be graduating in 2006 and am on the editorial staff of our yearbook so i was assigned to do the now and then stuff.  Almost everyone in our class is born in 1988 so i am trying to find stuff about that time.  I have compiled a list of things that I would like to find out about 1988 and I am having trouble finding stuff on the internet.  If anyone could help me that would be really appreciated.  This is the list of things that I would like to find out:
Gas prices
Clothes/fashions
Movies
T.V. Shows
Hobbies
Cars
Music
Haircuts/ Hair styles
Stores
Population
Video games
Cell phones
Music player
Drinks/soda
Goals in life
School
Star wars
Most common job
cartoons
famous people

Also if you know any other things to add, that would also be appreciated :)

Subject: Re: 1988 things

Written By: woops on 08/24/05 at 10:31 pm

Music:

Debbie Gibson became the youngest artist (17) to write, produce, & record a #1 hit with "Foolish Beat"
INXS "Need You Tonight/Mediate" won video of the year at the 1988 Video Music Awards.
George Michael's "Faith" won album of the year at the Grammys

Popular songs:

Erasure "Chains Of Love"
Bobby Brown "My Prerogative"
Bon Jovi "I'll Be There For You"
Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock "It Takes Two"
Guns N' Roses "Sweet Child O' Mine"
INXS "New Sensation"
Poison "Every Rose Has It's Thorn"
U2 "Desire"
Expose "Seasons Change"
Def Leppard "Pour Some Sugar On Me"
Terence Trent D'Arby "Sign Your Name"
Kylie Minogue "The Locomotion"
New Edition "If This Isn't Love"

TV:

"Roseanne" & "The Wonder Years" debut