inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Did we grow up???

Written By: OliverDK on 09/25/05 at 6:27 am

We buried an old friend of mine on September 19th and it did feel good to see the whole gang again, but I was surprised when I realized how much everyone had changed in the last 10-15 years, it's kinda a Catch 22 thing; I mean you had to have been there, anyway we were 10-12 friends who would hit downtown together on weekends, and some of them I hadn't seen since I stopped coming on Cafe Selina in '95, to my surprise all of them seemed to have become adults while I was looking the other way.

The thing is that I make my living as a freelance writer and photographer so my lifestyle haven't really changed that much since the late 80s and early 90s, but most of my friends at the funeral had been sucked into the slowmotion-doomsday of the 9-to-5 life, complete with kids and high careers, even my best friend (Who's job as a truckdriver isn't exactly 9-to-5) have somehow managed to become an adult, and almost overnight too.

And what I came up with after a heavy session of Jean Michel Jarre-meditation was that having children (Big of a change as it is) and having a steady work routine can't possibly change a person that much, is it that we didn't grow up and remember an era with a bad actor in the White House and a wall dividing Europe in East and West as the Golden Years, they did grow up and simply remember the 80s as something in their past, something to be forgotten.