inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: What? Alternative is considered classic (oldie) music now?

Written By: Tanya1976 on 07/25/04 at 10:29 pm

I'm watching the VH1 Classic channel. They are doing 2 hours of alternative music videos. Yes, cool. However, it's on a channel that plays music videos of songs from the sixties through the eighties (which is bad enough).

How did the Alternative music scene become classic music? It only occurred 14 years ago. I was a freshman in high school! WTF?  :o

What are your feelings about this?

Tanya

Subject: Re: What? Alternative is considered classic (oldie) music now?

Written By: Harmonica on 07/26/04 at 12:14 am

Don't know

Why does CMT Country Music Station play Rock n Roll video's like John Mellencamps Pink Houses?

A lot of questions are based on people's biased opinions and trying to turn them into facts. A lot of the world is that way.

Written By: Tanya1976 on 07/26/04 at 1:59 am

Yeah, I don't get the CMT thing either. Oh well. I guess I should buy my Geritol now  ;)

Tanya

Written By: Powerslave on 07/29/04 at 7:43 pm

14 years is a long time Tanya. The music I was listening to in high school was considered "old" by the mid 90s, and I was in high school until 1987. Any song older than 10 years old and still enjoying considerable airplay is a classic really.

Written By: Howard on 07/29/04 at 8:13 pm

They actually play early 90's music on my radio station that goes back to 1990-1995.

Howard

Written By: Tanya1976 on 07/30/04 at 2:15 am