inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Oregon Trail

Written By: Chris S on 12/16/05 at 9:52 pm

Anyone remember this game? I think it was pretty big when I was in 3rd or 4th grade. I am a freshman in college now.

Subject: Re: Oregon Trail

Written By: quirky_cat_girl on 12/16/05 at 10:14 pm

I used to play this game in middle school...when we used those big floppy discs! LOL!  That was a fun game....the graphics were so "old school"!!

Written By: bbigd04 on 12/17/05 at 12:50 am

Oh yea, I remember playing it on those old Apple IIgs's in school.

Written By: audkal on 12/17/05 at 1:27 am

LOL, yeah I still have the copy we bought in like '95 or '96 and guess what, I still play it sometimes!  Takes me back to 1st grade.

Written By: nally on 12/19/05 at 11:28 am

I may have played it, but wasn't very good at it.

Written By: SpaceHog on 12/22/05 at 1:19 pm

I beat it in 5 minutes.

Written By: Criz on 12/22/05 at 1:23 pm

Lol - I still have a copy of it! It came with my first PC in '96. Think I got to the end quite a few times - after initially getting everyone killed! Y'know what, I actually feel like putting it on and having a go for old times sake!!

Written By: Criz on 12/24/05 at 7:03 am

Well I tried to play it - but it's too damn slow!! Got bored and quit!!!

Written By: Marty McFly on 12/25/05 at 2:45 pm

^ Well yeah, by today's terms it would be frustratingly slow.

I did play it a bit around 1997, though. It wasn't too easy, nor too hard - simple but fun. I remember commenting that the music sounded like an Old West version of Neil Young. ;)