inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: 1997

Written By: batfan2005 on 03/24/06 at 1:16 pm

So do you think 1997 was a changeful year of the 90's, or a continuation of 1996? I thought '97 was a big change for me, maybe because it's when I graduated high school. I also remember that the Spice Girls came out that year, Men in Black came out in theaters, and South Park premiered. Also in music I remember Sublime, Sugar Ray, Smashmouth, Mighty Mighty Boss Tones, and Chumbawamba were big that year.

Subject: Re: 1997

Written By: Watcher29 on 03/24/06 at 3:17 pm

It was a major change for me. I got married that year. I don't know as the culture changed a whole lot or anything.

Written By: Donnie Darko on 03/24/06 at 4:09 pm

1997 was a huge change.  That was the year the '90s went from being old school (and even in some ways like the 1980s) to being hi-tech, fast-paced, and almost like the '00s.  Not to say it wasn't '90s, it was just the beginning of a different type of '90s, the type that's still ridiculed today.

I personally hate 1997.  It killed Princess Di, brought a Parental Ratings system, spawned the boy bands, and was also the year the Gigapet debuted in America I believe.  1996 and 1998 were better years.

Written By: bbigd04 on 03/24/06 at 4:20 pm