inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Are kids born in the 1990's beginning to define current pop culture?

Written By: mach!ne_he@d on 08/06/07 at 3:54 pm

Over the last 2 or so years I've started to notice that alot of people that I went to school with(generally born between 1985 and 1988) are starting to lose interest in current pop culture, and don't really bother keeping up with what the newest songs are, newest trends are, etc. I've been the same way myself. Ever since I graduated high school back in 2005, I have had almost no interest in current pop culture at all. Now I only listen to some top 40 songs, basically only the ones that catch my interest, but just 5 or so years ago, that was pretty much all I listened too. Also alot of the new stuff(like Emo, and the Disney pop craze), just don't catch my attention either.

This leads me to wonder if the "time" of us '80s born kids starting to come to an end. When you think about it, even those born in 1989 are 18, and out of high school now. It seems to me like alot of these new trends are being driven by kids born in the '90s, specifically those born after 1991 or so.

Is there anyone else here born in the '80s that feels the same way?

Subject: Re: Are kids born in the 1990's beginning to define current pop culture?

Written By: SOMEBODY on 08/06/07 at 11:30 pm

YES I NOTICED THE SAME THING ITS LIKE KIDS BORN IN THE 80'S ARE FADING AWAY AND ITS ALL ABOUT THE 90'S I MISS BEING A KID AND THIS MAKES ME THINK OF THE GOOD DAYS :\'(

Subject: Re: Are kids born in the 1990's beginning to define current pop culture?

Written By: Marty McFly on 08/06/07 at 11:59 pm