inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Presenting the most annoying trends of the 1990s

Written By: Stinkyy on 10/08/09 at 3:07 pm

Hi, I graduated h.s. in '95, but live in the 80s forum.

I woke up this morning remembering how much I disliked the 90s trend in which:

People on t.v. (Jay Leno - top offender) CLEANING OUT THEIR EARS with their pinky fingers!  >:(

Some sort of nervous tic? 

I promise you I'm not making this up - I became very keenly attuned to this awful trend.  Would require countless hours of research, but I promise you I remember seeing Leno do it,  and I think Letterman and others followed suit.  Disgusting! 

"Thingamajigs scratch where Thingamajigs itch."

http://cdn.overstock.com/images/products/muze/books/0824965906.jpg

Runner-up: 

People sitting in their chairs backwards. 

http://cache3.asset-cache.net/xc/78367938.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=3B96878F62FEEADB594528EBB2D4EC12E30A760B0D811297

Honorable mention: 

People doing that thing where they'd flex their suspenders, especially on NBC, and Urkel from Family Matters.

http://cache3.asset-cache.net/xc/sb10067446bp-001.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=AE7D8592515903D8BD9802345DE2C58D10FD833A03CB2490E30A760B0D811297

Subject: Re: Presenting the most annoying trends of the 1990s

Written By: 80sfan on 10/09/09 at 1:01 am

Hey I like the people sitting backwards on the chair trend!  :-[

Lol.  ;D

Written By: Rhodes on 10/09/09 at 2:42 am

The most annoying trends of the 90s were as follows:

Furby
Pogs
Digital Pets
Pokemon
Beanie Babies

Written By: whistledog on 10/09/09 at 10:57 pm