inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: What would be EX-Etiquette?

Written By: ultraviolet52 on 12/01/05 at 7:07 pm

I have been debating this topic for several months becuase it has often put me in a situation to think whether I am wrong or if I'm right.

I have noticed and observed differing opinions about how people handle a new relationship with an ex-girlfriend/boyfriend who is still slightly in the picture. Some say it's perfectly okay to keep a friendship with an ex, some disagree. Some don't want a friendship with an ex because they caused too much hurt and some ex's are forced to be in the picture because of the sharing of children or even pets. It's all very complicated.

So, I guess my concern is the person who's dating the person with the ex who's still in the picture. How does this person react if the ex keeps contacting them? Is it an inconvienance to a new and thriving relationship that should be stopped or should it just be as it is and they'll eventually get away from the picture?

Subject: Re: What would be EX-Etiquette?

Written By: Apricot on 12/01/05 at 7:47 pm

I think it depends on how the relationship ended.. if it was bitter, it's gonna be different then simply a mutual breakup on good terms.

Written By: quirky_cat_girl on 12/01/05 at 11:05 pm

I don't think it is really good to keep an ex in the picture..especially if there is a new significant other....out of respect for the new SO, it would be in the best interest to cut ties.

Written By: karen on 12/02/05 at 3:54 am