inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: band tryout follies

Written By: Tia on 12/03/07 at 9:38 am

so no one here probably is aware, i think there may be three or so people i've told, i got fired from the band i was in, which is fine because i was gearing up to quit. so the past couple weeks i've been doing the ad-in-the-paper thing, looking for bands who are looking for guitar players.

so i try out for this band last night, four piece, female vocalist, all original stuff, pretty decent vocals but real basic campfire chord accompaniment, which is fine cuz i figure i'm a guitarist, i can do some textures and stuff and get them outta the campfire chord territory. so... i spend a few hours yesterday listening to this music, writing parts for it, so forth.

i get out there and they seem like nice people, everyone's set up so i set up my gear, meanwhile, singer is noodling around on her guitar and singing and her voice sounds all off key, not like on the recording at all. this is a source of concern for me, but whatever, i just got there so. also, she's strumming these really basic chords but even still she's not hitting them quite right and her guitar is out of tune.

ok. fine.