inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Comment-Less Ratings!

Written By: Leo Jay on 06/15/04 at 4:16 pm

As a newbie, I've been intrigued by the irritation this voting/comments issue has caused recently.

I sometimes rate parodies less than 5s and don't necessarily leave comments.  Occasionally, a parody seems to have had so little effort put into it that a comment doesn't seem worth my time -- the parodist doesn't seem to be taking it very seriously anyway.  But admittedly, that's relatively rare. 

Othertimes, the parody is tackling a controversial subject in what seems to be a very angry tone, and I just don't get the sense that the parodist is very open-minded or would take the comments well, so I might just vote and move on rather than incite an unproductive exchange of heated words.

Humor can be particularly hard to comment on.  Sometimes, if you think something's '3' funny rather than '5' funny, you just do.  Sometimes, there's a specific reason, but it's often it's hard to pinpoint.  If you leave a comment "sorry, I didn't think that was as funny as it could have been" it doesn't really tell the writer any more than the '3', anyway and just makes you look even more like a jerk, anyway.  So you can't win.