inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Why is something funny?

Written By: Harmony on 04/21/05 at 10:40 pm

Hi.  I don't understand why some people think something is funny and other people don't.  If you are making up a parody, what do you do to try to make it funny, and what makes you laugh at it, and what makes you think something is not funny when other people do or the other way around?

Subject: Re: Why is something funny?

Written By: Scathe on 04/21/05 at 11:41 pm

:)
Harmony, I'm not a pro like many writers at AmIRight, but heres my advice.
Pick an original song, find its meaning then go as far off topic as you possibly can.
Chances are someone will get a chuckle, but there will always be someone who doesn't think it's funny.
They either won't let you know, won't tell you why(the AmIRight Onester), whine, or offer you some advice.
Just write without worries and you'll be fine.

Written By: MooRocca on 04/22/05 at 1:00 am

There is humor in all things... but just as only a talented sculptor can bring the statue out of the rock, some are more skilled at bringing the humor out of certain things.  Also, humor is subjective -- what makes me fall out of my chair laughing might not get so much as a half smile from someone else and vice versa...  and not because the one who didn't laugh didn't "get it" just because it's not what tickles that person's funnybone. 

Written By: Kristof Robertson on 04/22/05 at 3:48 am