inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Revisioning system for parodies, here's an idea that addresses "editing"

Written By: ChuckyG on 08/26/05 at 8:28 am

For ages, people have been asking to edit parodies once submitted.

I have refused!

While in the bathroom (where I do my best thinking) I gave it some more thought. 

My basic objection to allowing authors has not been technical, I'm a software engineer, I can figure out how to solve any kind of programming problem given enough time and motivation.  The biggest reason is to prevent abuse.  If someone submits a parody and people comment/vote on it, and then the author changes the parody, will the comments still apply.  An author could write a parody bashing Bush, wait for all the lefties to come in an praise the author, and then totally change it around to make them look bad.  Granted, this can be prevented by allowing for a reviewer to approve it a second time (like I didn't have enough work already).  However, even if the person isn't trying to be a pain in the rear, what if the changes improve the parody?  Should the old votes be invalidated? Should people re-vote? Should it re-appear on the front page of the site?