inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Parodies Performed by Rick Cormier

Written By: Rick Cormier on 11/21/05 at 11:25 am

After having practiced at 5 or 6 outdoor parties of friends over the summer, I finally performed some of my parodies at a comedy show last week. I have been doing sound for local comedians for a couple of years now and, thought parodies might go over so, I gave it a shot.

I also ran the sound and hosted the show as well. This was a learning experience for me, because I learned that I need someone to man the volume controls to keep a balance on the volumes of the microphone and the backing tracks.

My first time up, I told the audience of around 120 people about the comedians that were to perform. I did a couple of quick jokes and went right into my parody of Tom Jones' "It's Not Unusual". Mine is called "I'm So Unusual". The microphone was much louder than the backing track and, it took away from the performance. I did get some laughs and a good round of applause when it was through though. I then introduced the first comedian.

He did his thing and he introduced the second comedian. After the second comic, I went up and announced that we would take a short break of ten to fifteen minutes. During the break, the headliner, Mike Donovan, told me that things would go better for me if I had someone introduce me. This gives the audience more of an impression that I was part of the show and, not just the host. So, the second comedian went back up and introduced me. The headliner manned the volume controls and, voila! What a difference!