inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Rick Cormier Live on YouTube

Written By: Rick Cormier on 04/08/09 at 6:33 am

Most of you probably don't know me but, I used to be a parody author on Amiright, back in the days when the mighty Spaff was winning PAOTY (that's Parody Author Of The Year, not a misspelling of payote).

I don't write a lot of parodies these days, since I'm focusing more on standup comedy but, I still perform them, if I'm hosting a comedy show. I do them karaoke style, having pre-recorded all but the lead vocal onto an iPod. Combining standup and parody adds some variety to the show.

The comic who is onstage just before the headliner is responsible for warming up the audience for the headliner. In the video linked here, that was the case a couple of weeks ago, I was warming up the crowd with parodies.

For me, performing a parody live brings the parody full circle. It's one thing to write one, another to record it but, hearing the crowd laughing in all of the right places and, their applause at the end, is why I do this.

Yes, I could have filmed it better. Yes, I could have sung it better but, the response of the crowd is what makes this special to me.

Who says nobody cares about parodies?

Please take a look, it'll take less than 2 minutes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11OVxHwX2v0&feature=channel_page

Enjoy,

Rick C

Subject: Re: Rick Cormier Live on YouTube

Written By: Leo Keough on 04/08/09 at 9:55 am

First of all - Great job on this video!!!