inthe00s
The Pop Culture Information Society...

These are the messages that have been posted on inthe00s over the past few years.

Check out the messageboard archive index for a complete list of topic areas.

This archive is periodically refreshed with the latest messages from the current messageboard.

Check for new replies or respond here...

Subject: Dumbest thread question ever about your hearing of music over the years.

Written By: mqg96 on 05/07/18 at 10:31 pm

Before I begin this thread, I want to clarify a few things. #1 I'm not a big expert on the study of hearing or music, so this is just from my perspective. #2, this has NOTHING to do with hearing loss. This is not about decibels, the intensity of sound, loudness, or softness, this is about PITCH or SEMITONES (also known as half steps). It's actually become a pet peeve of mine when every time I try to get people to understand this they think it immediately has to do with "hearing loss", no, this is about pitch or semitones. Now for EVERYONE who enters this thread. Follow these steps.

1. Make sure you have headphones or earbuds.

2. Download Audacity (it's clean and commonly used)

3. Choose any sound with music in it, it can be your favorite music, song, ringtone, theme, commercial ad with music in it, intro to a TV show, etc. ANY type of music sound, and make sure you convert it to mp3 and save it as a file. (YouTube to MP3 is very common)

4. Open Audacity and go to File > Import > Audio

5. Listen to the whole music.

6. Now imagine that you're 10 years younger than you are now. Highlight the music on the side. Go to Effect > Change Pitch > Semitones (half-steps): -0.5

7. Listen to the whole music, then make sure you press the back arrow button on the top right to go back to its original form.

8. Now this time imagine you're 10 years older than you are now. Highlight the music on the side. Go to Effect > Change Pitch > Semitones (half-steps): +0.5

9. Listen to the whole music.